Licensing

Michigan Electrician License: The Full Ladder

Michigan electrician licensing: apprentice registration, journeyman and master hours, contractor exam, fees, renewal, and local recognition.

How Michigan electrician licensing actually works

Michigan uses a statewide electrical law, but it is not purely a one-card state. Michigan law allows a municipality to operate its own electrical licensing system when its examination, licensing, enforcement, penalties, and inspection standards are at least as stringent as the state system. MCL 339.5733 sets those local-program conditions.

A license or registration issued by the state Board, or by a qualifying municipality, must be recognized by all Michigan municipalities. That recognition rule prevents a licensed electrician from having to re-test in every city, although a municipality with inspection authority may still require contractor registration under its ordinance.

The career structure is apprentice registration, journeyman license, and master license. An electrical contractor license is a separate business-facing credential tied to a master electrician. If you are comparing this structure with other states, start with the general electrician licensing path.

Apprentice, journeyman, master, and contractor

Credential Statutory gate Practical role
Apprentice electrician Register within 30 days of employment and participate in a Board-approved apprenticeship program Learn and assist under direct personal supervision.
Electrical journeyman At least age 20; 8,000 supervised hours over at least four years; examination Perform electrical work as the working individual license.
Master electrician At least age 22; 12,000 hours over at least six years; hold journeyman for at least two years; examination Supervise installations and qualify one contractor license.
Electrical contractor Be an individual master or employ a full-time Michigan-resident master responsible for code compliance; contractor examination Operate the electrical contracting business.

An apprentice must register with the Board within 30 days after employment. The same statute requires satisfactory proof of participation in a Board-approved apprenticeship training program.

A journeyman applicant must be at least 20 and have at least 8,000 hours over at least four years under direct supervision of a licensee. MCL 339.5715 also provides a military-experience route and rules for crediting partial military experience.

A master applicant must be at least 22, have at least 12,000 hours over at least six years under a master, and have held a journeyman license for at least two years. Those three gates appear together in MCL 339.5713.

The contractor license has its own exam and qualifier

The electrical contractor credential is separate from the master license, but the master is what qualifies the contractor. An electrical contractor must either be an individual master electrician or employ at least one full-time master who resides in Michigan and is responsible for code compliance. MCL 339.5711 states both qualifying routes.

The old version of this page said there was no separate contractor exam. Do not rely on that. Michigan’s statute sets a $100 examination fee for electrical contractor licensure. Electrical contractor appears alongside master and journeyman in the statutory examination-fee list.

A master electrician cannot be used to qualify more than one electrical contractor license. That one-license limit is explicit in MCL 339.5713. If a company uses an employee master, that person must be full-time, live in Michigan, and actively control code compliance. This is a real qualifying-person relationship, not a name rented for an application. The qualifying-party guide explains why control and continuity matter.

Hours, supervision, fees, and renewal

The field-hour requirements are statutory; the often-repeated 576 classroom-hour figure is not stated in Article 7 of the Skilled Trades Regulation Act. Michigan instead requires an apprentice to participate in a Board-approved apprenticeship program. MCL 339.5717 says registration depends on satisfactory proof of that participation. Use that program’s curriculum rather than treating 576 as a stand-alone state licensing number.

The apprentice ratio is one journeyman or master to no more than three registered apprentices on a jobsite. MCL 339.5717 requires the department or enforcing agency to apply that ratio jobsite by jobsite.

The statutory initial or renewal fee is $50 for a master, $40 for a journeyman, and $15 for an apprentice registration. Apprentice registrations expire August 31 each year. Master and journeyman licenses generally expire December 31 each year. Electrical contractor licenses run on a three-year cycle, and the statutory renewal fee is $300. MCL 339.5707 lists the fees and expiration cycles.

Journeymen must complete a Board-approved course on a state construction-code update within 12 months after that update. MCL 339.5715 applies the rule only during or after years when the state construction code changes. Masters have the same code-update course requirement. MCL 339.5713 places the same timing on master renewals. For broader renewal planning, use the contractor license renewal guide.

Application sequence

Use this sequence:

  1. Get employed and register. File apprentice registration within 30 days and provide proof of a sponsoring employer and approved apprenticeship participation.
  2. Keep the registration active. Apprentice registration expires August 31 each year.
  3. Document supervised work. Build at least 8,000 hours over at least four years for journeyman eligibility.
  4. Apply for the journeyman examination. Exam applicants establish experience by submitting notarized statements from current and former employers. MCL 339.5709 makes those employer statements the statutory proof route.
  5. Hold journeyman and keep building hours. Master eligibility requires at least 12,000 hours over six or more years and at least two years holding journeyman.
  6. Pass the master examination. The master credential is the supervisory license and the qualifying credential for an electrical contractor.
  7. Apply separately for contractor licensure. The applicant must be a master or employ the required full-time resident master, and the statute provides a separate contractor examination fee.

Do not submit an unsupported hour estimate. Employer documentation is the part the Board can evaluate, and a missing former-employer statement can hold up exam eligibility.

Out-of-state applicants: temporary licensure, not blanket reciprocity

Michigan does not publish a blanket statutory conversion for general journeyman or master licenses in Article 7. The act does provide a narrower bridge while an out-of-state applicant completes Michigan’s process.

The department may grant a nonrenewable temporary license to an applicant who proves a current license or registration in good standing from an equivalent authority and has not previously had a license denied, revoked, or suspended. MCL 339.5219 says that temporary license may last until the next exam result, license decision, missed exam, failed qualification, or employment change.

The electrical article gives an explicit license-without-examination route only for sign specialty licensure when the other state’s standards meet or exceed Michigan’s. That narrow provision appears in MCL 339.5731. Do not assume it applies to journeyman, master, or electrical contractor credentials. Out-of-state applicants should submit their license and experience records and follow the Michigan exam path unless the department grants a temporary license or another specific determination.

Michigan electrician license FAQ

Does Michigan use only a state electrician license?

No. State law allows municipalities to run equally stringent licensing and inspection systems. State licenses and qualifying municipal licenses must be recognized by all municipalities, although local contractor registration may still apply.

How much experience is required for a Michigan journeyman electrician license?

At least 8,000 hours over at least four years under direct supervision of a licensee, and the applicant must be at least 20.

Does Michigan require exactly 576 classroom hours?

Article 7 does not state a separate 576-hour licensing threshold. It requires apprentice participation in a Board-approved apprenticeship program. Follow that program’s curriculum while building the statutory field hours.

Is there a Michigan electrical contractor exam?

The statute includes electrical contractor in the licenses with a $100 examination fee. Contractor qualification also requires the applicant to be a master or employ a full-time Michigan-resident master responsible for code compliance.

Can one master electrician qualify more than one contractor license?

No. Michigan law says a master license cannot satisfy the qualifying requirement for more than one electrical contractor license.

Does an out-of-state journeyman or master license transfer automatically?

No blanket automatic conversion appears in Article 7. A qualifying applicant may receive a temporary license while completing Michigan’s process, but the explicit no-exam equivalency provision is for sign specialty licensure.

Sources

Related reading

More in Licensing →