Software

Construction PM Software: Four Documented Options

Compare vendor-documented features and pricing for Procore, JobTread, Contractor Foreman, and Houzz Pro, with evidence limits and demo tests.

What this four-candidate comparison can prove

Direct answer: This page compares four documented candidates; it is not a market-wide best-of ranking.

The comparison set is limited to Procore, JobTread, Contractor Foreman, and Houzz Pro. The inclusion rule is reproducible inside that set: a current readable first-party page had to document at least one construction-project workflow, and the guide had to report either published pricing mechanics or that price was not disclosed on the fetched page. The research did not screen the whole market, so omission does not mean another product is worse.

The research also did not independently test implementation burden, support quality, mobile or offline reliability, accounting depth, data exports, or jobsite performance. Those are demo requirements, not assumed strengths.

Before booking demos, define the workflows that must survive the switch. Our construction software demo checklist turns that list into test scripts.

Four documented candidates, not market-wide rankings

Documented candidate Use case supported by the fetched page Current pricing evidence What this research does not establish
Procore Drawings, daily reports, photos, RFIs, submittals, budgets, change orders, document control, and scheduling Custom annual fee by selected products and Annual Construction Volume; unlimited users, data, and support included, except Field Productivity, which Procore says is priced by FTE Dollar cost, implementation burden, accounting depth, export quality, support performance, or field reliability
JobTread Sales, estimating, project management, job finances, and customer portals in one advertised feature set $199 monthly base includes one internal user; monthly additional-user tiers run from $20 each for users 2–10 down to $5 each for users 31+; annual tiers are lower Whether its workflow depth and controls fit a specific commercial or residential operation
Contractor Foreman Broad contractor modules with published company-plan tiers Annual plans shown from $49/month for one user to $332/month for unlimited users Comparative implementation, mobile/offline behavior, support quality, accounting depth, or exports
Houzz Pro 3D plans, takeoffs, selections, CRM, mood boards, schedules, daily logs, dashboards, and financial documents Unverified: the fetched current product page contains no dollar price or contract terms Total cost and whether project-financial controls match a construction operator’s requirements

The table compares what current vendor pages document. It does not award an overall winner or claim these are the only qualified products.

Documented fit, pricing, and limitations

Procore: commercial-feature candidate. Procore documents offline access to drawings, daily reports, and photos, plus RFI and submittal tracking, budget connections, change orders, document control, and integrated scheduling. Procore project management Procore says its upfront annual fee depends on selected products and Annual Construction Volume. It includes unlimited users, data storage, and support; Procore states that this model excludes Field Productivity, which is priced by FTE. Procore pricing That combination justifies a commercial demo when many internal and external participants need access. It does not independently prove ease of rollout, support quality, accounting depth, export quality, or field reliability. Read our Procore review for more product context.

JobTread: transparent all-feature pricing candidate. JobTread publishes a $199 monthly base. One internal user is included; on the monthly plan, additional users cost $20 each for users 2–10, $15 each for 11–20, $10 each for 21–30, and $5 each for 31+. Annual-plan rates are $16, $12, $8, and $4 in the same tiers. JobTread pricing JobTread says every feature is included and there is no contract or setup fee. Customer, vendor, and subcontractor portal users are free and unlimited. JobTread pricing The published schedule makes budgeting easier; a demo still must establish permissions, accounting workflow, exports, mobile behavior, and fit for the company’s project type. Read our JobTread review for a focused walkthrough.

Contractor Foreman: low published entry-tier candidate. Its current annual plans show Basic at $49 per month for one user, Standard at $105 for up to three, Plus at $166 for up to eight, Pro at $221 for up to 15, and Unlimited at $332. Contractor Foreman pricing The vendor says the listed fee is for the company as a whole and does not rise with project count. Contractor Foreman pricing The lower plans still have user caps and feature differences. Price alone does not establish implementation, support, mobile/offline quality, accounting depth, or export quality.

Houzz Pro: design-and-client-workflow candidate with unverified price. The current Houzz Pro page lists 3D floor plans, takeoffs, selections, CRM, mood boards, schedules, daily logs, client and subcontractor dashboards, estimates, proposals, change orders, invoices, and QuickBooks integration. Houzz Pro That documentation earns it a design-led demo slot, not a price-adjusted rank. The fetched page does not disclose a dollar price or contract terms, so obtain a written quote and test job costing, permissions, exports, and accounting handoff before comparing total value.

Pick by company size and work type

Solo operator or very small contractor: Contractor Foreman has the lowest published entry tier in this evidence set, but that tier allows one user. JobTread has a higher base, includes all features, and includes one internal user. Compare both with the cost of separate estimating, scheduling, CRM, and field-document apps.

Growing residential builder or remodeler: Put JobTread and Contractor Foreman through the same estimate, selection, change order, purchase order, invoice, and job-cost scenario. Add Houzz Pro when visual planning, mood boards, and client presentation are central, but obtain its price first.

Commercial general contractor: Put Procore in the demo set when RFIs, submittals, drawing revisions, offline field records, and many external collaborators are mandatory. Require the demo to prove the audit trail, accounting handoff, exports, and field resync; the feature list alone does not prove performance.

Field-service contractor: Project-management software may be the wrong category when dispatch, recurring service agreements, technician routing, and flat-rate service invoicing dominate. Compare field-service options separately rather than forcing project software into a service operation.

Use how to choose construction software before narrowing the vendor list.

Buyer’s checklist: test a real job

Run a real job through each finalist:

  • Build an estimate from your cost structure and convert it to a budget.
  • Issue one subcontract or purchase order, then revise the commitment.
  • Create an RFI, submittal, daily log, photo record, and drawing revision from a phone.
  • Price a change order and trace its effect through contract value, budget, invoice, and forecast.
  • Invite a client, subcontractor, and accountant with the permissions they would actually receive.
  • Test offline work and the resync behavior if field connectivity matters.
  • Export contacts, budgets, documents, and reports so you know what leaving would look like.
  • Ask which integrations are native, which use a connector, and which require another subscription.
  • Get implementation, data migration, training, payment processing, storage, API, and renewal terms in writing.
  • Model cost at today’s internal-user count and the count expected in two years.

A polished sales demo proves that the salesperson can operate the happy path. Your test should prove that a superintendent, project manager, bookkeeper, client, and subcontractor can complete the messy path.

Decision factors that change the answer

Workflow fit beats feature count. A field-service shop, custom builder, and commercial GC can all need scheduling and change orders while requiring completely different depth around dispatch, selections, RFIs, or commitments.

Pricing unit changes the long-term bill. Procore ties its quote to products and Annual Construction Volume. JobTread charges a base plus internal users. Contractor Foreman sells company plans with user caps. Those models react differently when revenue, employees, collaborators, and project count grow.

Access rules affect adoption. Procore includes unlimited users in its general pricing model, but excludes Field Productivity, which is priced by FTE. JobTread makes external portal users free and unlimited but charges for internal users. Contractor Foreman’s annual tiers move from one user to capped teams and then unlimited. Map every role before comparing sticker prices.

Implementation is part of the product. Assign an internal owner, define cost codes and permissions, clean customer and vendor data, and decide which system owns accounting truth. A broad platform with no rollout owner becomes expensive document storage.

Exit risk belongs in the purchase decision. Ask for sample exports and contract language before signing. If critical records leave only as PDFs, the switching cost is higher than the subscription comparison suggests.

Construction project management software FAQ

Does this page identify the best construction project management software? No. It compares four candidates with readable current first-party documentation; it does not claim a market-wide winner or that omitted products are worse.

How much does Procore cost? Procore does not publish one universal dollar price on its current pricing page. It says the annual fee depends on selected products and Annual Construction Volume. The general model includes unlimited users, data and support, but excludes Field Productivity, which is priced by FTE.

How much does JobTread cost? JobTread lists a $199 monthly base with one internal user included. Monthly additional-user tiers are $20 each for users 2–10, $15 for 11–20, $10 for 21–30, and $5 for 31+. Annual-plan tier rates are lower.

How much does Contractor Foreman cost? Current annual-plan equivalents run from $49 per month for one user to $332 per month for unlimited users, with intermediate user-capped tiers.

How much does Houzz Pro cost? The fetched current product page did not disclose a dollar price or contract terms. Get a written quote before comparing total cost.

Was this software tested hands-on? No. The comparison is based on current first-party documentation and disclosed pricing. Buyers must use standardized demos, references, contract review, and export tests to evaluate actual performance.

Sources

Related reading

More in Software →